Planning Board

The Alamance County Planning Board is an appointed advisory Board consisting of 13 members. Planning Board members are appointed by the Alamance County Board of Commissioners and serve for 3 year terms. The Planning Board consists of 9 regular (voting) members, 3 alternate members, and 1 County Commissioner that serves in an ex-officio (without vote) capacity. Board members may serve for 2 consecutive terms, after which members are ineligible for reappointment for a period of 1 year.

Diverse representation of the County is a priority of the Planning Board. To achieve this, no more than 2 members may represent any specific township and no more than 1 member may serve as a regular (voting) member.

Responsibilities and duties of the Alamance County Planning Board include the review of new ordinances, review of ordinance amendments, subdivision waivers, and other matters pertaining to long-range land use planning.

The Planning Board meets on the second Thursday of each month at 7:00PM. All meetings, unless otherwise noted, are held in the Commissioner’s Meeting Room located at 124 West Elm Street in Graham, NC.

Current Board Membership

Regular Board Members
Jimmy Ray Cobb, Jr., Pleasant Grove (Chair)
Rodney Cheek, Newlin (Vice-Chair)
Rob Countiss, Melville
Bryan Foushee, Thompson
Albert Freeman, Boone Station
Monte Holland, Burlington
Robert Osborne, Newlin (Vice Chair)
Edgar Pritchett, Morton
Randall Smith, Patterson
Don Jennings, Boone Station
Alternate Members

Jody Tyree, Graham Township

Cletus Dodson, Graham Township

Commissioner Representative:
Eddie Boswell

Meeting Schedule

The Planning Board meets on the 2nd Thursday of the month at 7:00 PM. All meetings, unless otherwise noted, are held in the County Commissioners’ Room of the Alamance County Office Building at 124 W. Elm in Graham. If there are any changes to this meeting schedule, notice shall be provided in accordance to N.C.G.S. 143-318.12(b) (2).

2014 Meetings
Meeting Date Agenda Minutes
January 9, 2014  No meeting   No meeting 
February 20, 2014 (rescheduled from 2/13 due to inclement weather)  Agenda Packet  Approved Minutes
March 13, 2014  Agenda Packet  Approved Minutes
April 10, 2014  Agenda Packet
May 8, 2014  Agenda Packet
June 12, 2014  Agenda Packet
July 10, 2014
August 14, 2014
September 11, 2014  Agenda Packet
October 9, 2014 No meeting
November 13, 2014  No meeting
December 11, 2014  No meeting