Our Vision: The Planning Board works to provide prudent guidance in land planning issues to reflect the values of the community.

Our Mission: The Mission of the Alamance County Planning Board is to respond to needs of its citizens by providing leadership and guidance for the comprehensive, thoughtful, and orderly growth and development of our land based upon respect for our rich history, culture, and fairness to our citizens. The Alamance County Planning Board is an appointed advisory Board consisting of 13 members. Planning Board members are appointed by the Alamance County Board of Commissioners and serve for 3-year terms. Board members may serve for 2 consecutive terms, after which members are ineligible for reappointment for a period of 1 year. Diverse representation of the county is a priority of the Planning Board. To achieve this, no more than 3 members may represent any specific township. Responsibilities and duties of the Alamance County Planning Board include reviewing new ordinances, ordinance amendments, subdivision waivers, and other matters pertaining to current and long-term land use planning. The Planning Board meets on the second Thursday of each month at 7:00 PM. All meetings, unless otherwise noted, are held in the Commissioners’ Meeting Room located at 124 West Elm Street in Graham, NC. Meeting cancellations will be posted on the door to the County building at 124 W. Elm Street, Graham, as well as noted on the “News & Updates” portion of the website. The Planning Board is responsible for providing recommendations to the Board of Commissioners regarding any planning or waiver issues, along with various other matters of concern.

2022 Planning Board Members

Jimmy Ray Cobb, Chair Faucette
Gene Brooks, Vice Chair Faucette
Dennis Arthur Hall Faucette
Rodney Cheek Newlin
Stephen Dodson Pleasant Grove
Debra Hyder Patterson
Sandy Ellington-Graves Newlin
Anthony Pierce Melville
Eric McPherson Patterson
Bill Poe Newlin
Troy V Willoughby, Jr. Morton
Blake Cobb Pleasant Grove
Ernest Bare Morton
John Paisley Commissioner Representative