Alamance Parks is pleased to recognize four new Champion Trees in Alamance County. The winners are: 

  • New Species:
    • Winged Elm, Ulmus alata, 249 points 
    • Black Oak, Quercus velutina, 206.75 points 
    • Shagbark Hickory, Carya ovata, 253.75 points 
  • New Update:
    • Yellow Poplar, Liriodendron tulipifera, 352.75 points 

Champion Tree of Alamance County began in 2012 and celebrates the many wonderful, significant trees in our county. The program seeks to find, measure and crown trees in the following categories: Champion Tree, Historic Tree, and Landmark Tree. The Champion Tree category recognizes the largest tree in the county of any eligible species. Tree size is measured using a formula that takes into account circumference, height, and crown spread. Trees that meet the criteria for the North Carolina Champion Big Tree Program will be submitted for state level recognition. 

The Historic Trees category recognizes trees that are at least 50 years old and have a verifiable story of historical significance. Landmark Trees include trees that hold special value for a community or group. 

Champion Tree of Alamance County accepts nominations biennially. For more information about the program, and to view the list of reigning champions, visit

About Author

I've been running the Alamance County Website since its initial launch in 1998. It is my goal to provide the best customer service to any and all of those who need my assistance.